New Music, News

Death Panthers Have Nothing to Prove with Debut LP

Death Panthers Nothing to Lose Nothing to Prove
Courtesy of the artist

PREMIEREDeath Panthers Nothing to Lose Nothing to Prove

Nothing to Lose Nothing to Prove could easily be a titular clutching-at-straws of an older band with everything to prove. Thankfully, coming from the barely-legal Death Panthers, the achingly adolescent name of their debut LP depicts a disregard for expectations: they’re riding the wave of Cape Town success and milking it for what it’s worth. And it’s that honesty and unburdened attitude that continues to make their music so effortlessly fun.

Whilst they display growth on this first offering, the riffs and melodies aren’t exactly new to the garage-adjacent realm. But that criticism feels tainted when their indebtedness to modern lo-fi landmarks – like Mikal Cronin and Ty Segall’s Reverse Shark Attack – is worn on their sleeve. The head-bobbing cover of ‘Pop Song’ – a 7” single released by that American duo in 2009 – is a telling addition that illustrates the tradition which Death Panthers are trying, albeit nonchalantly, to be a part of.

The most exciting part about this first full-length outing is that these catchy songs will be great to watch live, which is important, because Death Panthers’ raucous performances are arguably their greatest asset.

After releasing the music video for ‘Nicoteen’ last month (now listed as ‘Nicotine’), Nothing to Lose Nothing to Prove is out today. You heard it here first:

Death Panthers will be celebrating the release of their debut EP in Cape Town at the club erroneously known as EVOL (RIP to one of the longest-running club nights in CT), this Friday.

1. Intro
2. Out Of Town
3. Pop Song
4. Oh
5. Too Late
6. Nicotine
7. No Fun
8. Parents


Recorded at Red Bull Studios Cape Town.
Recording Engineer: Ryan Sullivan
Mixing/Mastering Engineer: Daniel Lidchi
Assistant Production: Reghardt Pienaar
Additional Production: Daniel Lidchi

All songs written and performed by Death Panthers (excluding ‘Pop Song’ – Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin).

Album artwork by Ian Jepson.


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Notify of